Krones AG

Successful interconnection of the new contact center with the SAP CRM system of Krones

International mechanical engineering company opts for the Voxtron Communication Center. The ability to interconnect the contact center with the SAP CRM system was central to the decision.

In early 2014, Krones AG instructed IP Dynamics to renovate its existing contact center system. Importantly for Krones, its contact center solution must also allow a highly efficient search for experts and specialists within the group. This is needed for a wealth of reasons – for example for operation, servicing and maintenance of the complex production lines of Krones AG’s customers worldwide. Besides meeting conventional requirements, therefore, the customer call center also needed to offer additional features.

In particular, the need to interconnect the contact center solution with Krones’ SAP system and enable integrative processing of all incidents arising (interaction records) presented the greatest challenge for productive delivery of the new solution.

IP Dynamics developed an integrated architecture for all requirements based on the “Voxtron Communication Center” – a multi-channel solution offering high levels of flexibility while preserving all standard interfaces and using the certified Integrated Communication Interface (ICI) for interaction with the SAP system.

The architectural design includes a multi-client solution which can efficiently implement the special features of Krones AG’s business units for each client.

Cooperation at a high technical level

The first phase of the overall project involved a careful analysis of the current situation. Qualified workshops were held and the results were finalised based on iterative evaluation and adjustment. The target architecture was then developed. Besides the known requirements, it also incorporated new capabilities for the functional areas of the Voxtron Communication Center. The results were documented in several jointly agreed requirements specifications. It is important to note that the thorough analysis and detailed description in these documents were instrumental in enabling scheduled implementation later in the project. Employees at Krones and IP Dynamics cooperated at a high technical level. All issues were discussed in detail. At project management level, too, the key objective from the outset was to ensure a coordinated implementation strategy that could be executed as planned. Any problematic situations arising were always discussed openly with the aim of achieving an appropriate, effective solution.

Once the order to implement the solutions described in the performance specifications was placed, the necessary system components were prepared at Krones’ locations throughout the world. In addition to the group‘s head office in Neutraubling and its German plants, Krones also has establishments on other continents such as Franklin in the USA, Sao Paulo in Brazil and Bangalore in India. Besides communication with local contact persons, other challenges involved the different time zones and ensuring purposeful analysis of monitoring and statistics.

Voxtron system configuration with three clients

The first client (Service Desk) went live in April 2015. This was preceded by a pilot phase, in which Krones employees and the system received direct, on-site support from IPD employees over a period of several days. The smooth launch was followed by a period of adjustment and fine-tuning for the client. This included monitoring elements and routing-related precision adjustments.

The second client (the Lifecycle Service Centre in the USA) went live in July 2015. Experience gained from the rollout of the first client was drawn on for the launch of the LCS Center in the USA. All preparations and the “go-live” were handled remotely. All required documents were produced in English and after just a few consultations to clarify certain matters, the Krones Communication Center in the USA was full operational.

The most complex client (Service Line, SL) went live in May 2016 following an intensive preparatory phase. It resulted in the system being interconnected with Krones’ SAP CRM system via uniform interfaces (ICI, RFC) and based on additional developments by IP Dynamics. Among other things, a compact user interface (KCC-Krones Communication Center, see Fig. 1) was developed for SL employees containing all information needed to ensure efficient working practices. In addition to status information, the interface also maps membership of organizational units. Calls can be individually forwarded or forwarded to a group or other roles.

To ensure successful interaction with the lead SAP system, IP Dynamics implemented extensive development and programming requirements while retaining the standard interface definitions. This created complex challenges, in terms of specialist knowledge and fast implementation, as regards cooperation with maihiro GmbH, Krones’ CRM consultancy company and long-standing SAP services provider, and the department at Krones which supplies the platform. Explicitly assigning an employee with extensive relevant experience enabled IP Dynamics to achieve high-level interaction with the SAP CRM system.

Individual requirements successfully implemented

Since being commissioned, the entire system has operated without any major problems. Additional application scenarios such as chat and e-mail routing have also been implemented and activated promptly at Krones. IP Dynamics provides 24-hour second and third level support under a service contract. IP Dynamics will also support the planned upgrade of Krones’ CRM system as regards interconnection with the Voxtron system.

Both IP Dynamics and Krones consider the project a success – not least because of the high lev-el of mutual trust between the companies.

Krones AG

Erfolgreiche Kopplung vom neuen Contact Center mit dem SAP CRM-System von Krones

Das internationale Maschinenbauunternehmen entscheidet sich für das Voxtron Communication Center. Die Besonderheit bestand in der Kopplung vom Contact Center mit dem SAP CRM-System.

Anfang 2014 wurde IP Dynamics von der Krones AG beauftragt, ihr vorhandenes Contact-Center System zu erneuern. Als Besonderheit fungiert bei Krones eine derartige Contact-Center Lösung für eine hocheffiziente Suche nach Experten und Spezialisten innerhalb des Konzerns. Benötigt wird diese für die vielfältigsten Anforderungen, zum Beispiel zum Betrieb, der Serviceleistung und Instandhaltung der komplexen Produktionsanlagen bei den Kunden der Krones AG weltweit. Damit waren, abweichend von der klassischen Anforderung nach einem Kunden-Call-Center, weitere Funktionen gefordert.

Insbesondere die notwendige Kopplung der Contact-Center Lösung mit dem SAP-System von Krones für eine integrative Bearbeitung aller anfallenden Incidents (Interaction Records) stellte die größte Herausforderung für die produktive Bereitstellung der neuen Lösung dar.

IP Dynamics entwarf eine Gesamtarchitektur aller Anforderungen auf Basis des „Voxtron Communication Center“ - eine Multichannel-Lösung mit einem hohen Grad an Flexibilität unter Bewahrung aller Standardschnittstellen und der Verwendung des zertifizierten Integrated Communication Interfaces (ICI) für die Interaktion mit dem SAP- System. Der Architekturentwurf beinhaltet eine Mehrmandantenlösung, die die Besonderheiten der Geschäftseinheiten der Krones AG pro Mandant effizient umsetzen kann.

Zusammenarbeit verläuft auf hohem technischem Niveau

Im ersten Teil des Gesamtprojektes wurde eine sorgfältige Analyse des IST-Standes vorgenommen. Dazu dienten qualifizierte Workshops deren Ergebnisse durch iterative Bewertung und Anpassung finalisiert wurden. In einem weiteren Teil wurde die SOLL-Architektur entworfen. Neben den bekannten Anforderungen wurden neue Möglichkeiten am Funktionsbereich des Voxtron Communication Centers gespiegelt. Die Ergebnisse wurden in mehreren, gemeinsam verabschiedeten, Pflichtenheften dokumentiert. An dieser Stelle ist hervorzuheben, dass die gründliche Analyse und die detaillierte Beschreibung in diesen Dokumenten die Basis für eine planmäßige Umsetzung im weiteren Verlauf des Projektes waren. Dabei arbeiteten die Mitarbeiter von Krones und IP Dynamics auf hohem technischen Niveau zusammen. Alle Themen wurden bis ins Detail besprochen. Auch auf Ebene des Projektmanagements wurde von Anbeginn auf eine planmäßige und koordiniert ablaufende Umsetzungsstrategie gesetzt. Aufkommende Problemlagen wurden prinzipiell offen und immer mit Blick auf eine sachbezogene und zielführende Lösung diskutiert.

Nach der Beauftragung zur Umsetzung der in den Pflichtenheften beschriebenen Lösungen wurden die notwendigen Systemkomponenten an den weltweiten Standorten vorbereitet. Neben dem Hauptsitz in Neutraubling und den deutschen Werken zählen dazu auch Standorte auf anderen Kontinenten wie z.B. Franklin / USA, Sao Paulo / Brasilien und Bangalore / Indien. Herausforderungen waren in diesem Zusammenhang nicht nur die Kommunikation mit den lokalen Ansprechpartnern, sondern auch die unterschiedlichen Zeitzonen für eine sinnvolle Monitoring- und Statistikauswertung.

Voxtron-Systemaufbau mit drei Mandanten

Im April 2015 wurde der erste Mandant (Service Desk) produktiv geschalten. Der Umschaltung ging eine Pilotphase voraus, in der die Krones-Mitarbeiter und das System von IPD-Mitarbeitern mehrere Tage direkt vor Ort betreut wurden. Dem reibungslosen Produktivgang folgte eine Phase der Anpassung und des Tunings für den Mandanten. Dazu gehörten Monitoringelemente sowie routingrelevante Feinjustierungen.

Im Juli 2015 ging der zweite Mandant, das Lifecycle Service Center in den USA, produktiv. Für das LCS Center USA konnte auf den Erfahrungen des ersten Mandanten aufgebaut werden. Alle Vorbereitungen und die Umschaltung konnten remote abgewickelt werden. Alle erforderlichen Dokumente wurden in englischer Sprache angefertigt und nach wenigen klärenden Konsultationen konnte der Betrieb des Communication Centers von Krones in den USA als eingeschwungen erklärt werden.

Der schwierigste Mandant – Service Line (SL) – ging nach sehr intensiven Vorbereitungen im Mai 2016 in Betrieb. Als Ergebnis dessen entstand eine Kopplung mit dem SAP CRM-System von Krones auf Basis einheitlicher Schnittstellen (ICI, RFC) sowie zusätzlicher Entwicklungsleistungen von IP Dynamics. Es wurde u.a. eine kompakte Bedienoberfläche (KCC-Krones Communication Center) für die SL-Mitarbeiter geschaffen, die alle notwendigen Informationen für eine effiziente Arbeitsweise enthält. Neben Statusinformationen werden ebenso Zugehörigkeiten zu Organisationseinheiten abgebildet. Es besteht die Möglichkeit der Einzelweiterleitung von Anrufen bzw. einer Weitergabe in eine Gruppe sowie weitere Funktionen.

Um eine fehlerfreie Interaktion mit dem führenden SAP-System zu erreichen, wurden umfangreiche Entwicklungs- und Programmieranforderungen unter Beibehaltung der Standardschnittstellen-Definitionen von IP Dynamics umgesetzt. Dabei wurde die Zusammenarbeit mit dem CRM-Beratungshaus und langjährigen SAP-Dienstleister von Krones, der maihiro GmbH und der Plattform bereitstellenden Abteilung von Krones hohen Ansprüchen bzgl. Fachwissen und schneller Umsetzung ausgesetzt. IP Dynamics konnte die Kopplung mit dem SAP CRM-System auf hohem Niveau umsetzen, da explizit dafür ein Mitarbeiter mit langjähriger Erfahrung auf diesem Gebiet eingesetzt wurde.

Individuelle Anforderungen wurden erfolgreich umgesetzt

Das Gesamtsystem läuft seit Inbetriebnahme ohne nennenswerte Beeinträchtigung. In weiteren Einsatzszenarien können z.B. Chat und E-Mail Routing bei Krones kurzfristig implementiert und aktiviert werden.

IP Dynamics leistet auf Basis eines Servicevertrages rund um die Uhr 2nd und 3rd Level Support. Des Weiteren wird IP Dynamics das geplante Upgrade des CRM-Systems bei Krones in Bezug auf die Kopplung mit dem Voxtron-System unterstützen.

IP Dynamics und Krones schätzen das Projekt als erfolgreich umgesetzt ein. Hauptgarant für den Erfolg war ein hohes Maß an gegenseitigem Vertrauen.